Skip to main content

WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines)

What are the WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines)?

The WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines) are guidelines that are intended to serve the accessibility of content on the Internet. They are to be enforced internationally. The problem is that people with disabilities are often excluded from extensive internet use, but web designers do not have the experience of what is really important for these people.
[su_list icon=”icon: share” icon_color=”#187bc0″ indent=”-5″] Therefore, the WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines) were conceived by the Web Accessibility Initiative of the World Wide Web Consortium. They are now gradually being introduced in all relevant public bodies in the EU:

  • for new websites (September 2019)
  • for existing websites (September 2020)
  • for mobile use (June 2021)

For people with disabilities

Physical (motor), nervous (sensory) and mental limitations are what led to the development of the WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines).

One example of many:

A blind person can grasp the content of a web page even if there is an audio script with the most important information.

If you plan to implement WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines) on a website, you can use a whole bundle of measures to ensure accessibility. A zoom function for the font size or the summary of a table content can be just as valuable as a good structuring of the website with a logical navigation and efficient headings.

Do you have any more questions?

Please contact us

Further contents